— Story —



Committee Leadership

Kelly Williamson
Director of Development for Cross Schools

Lauren Marcinkoski
Committee Chair 

pearls to pluff Mud

Each year, Cross Schools hosts its largest fundraising event, Pearls to Pluff Mud, which features a dinner along with silent and live auctions. The event was named for the diversity of our beautiful lowcountry landscape as well as the ability to have some years that would be a black tie affair (pearl) or casual outdoor celebrations (the pluff mud). This year’s event will be held on Friday, November 2, 2018, at a private venue, Swamp Fox Farms, and we expect 250-300 people. Funds generated at this event are used to purchase items that not covered in the operating budget, but rather a part of our Focus Fund. The goal of our Focus Fund Campaign is to create unique learning environments that allow students to grasp the knowledge and skills being taught through hands-on experiences.  This year we are concentrated on raising money to build an outdoor amphitheater, a space that will allow the students to truly engage in the arts, whether it be taking a lecture class, or reading Shakespeare. In addition, outdoor learning labs will be built which will allow students project-based application of STEM (Science-Technology-Engineering-Math) principles. Additional security cameras will be purchased to help assure the students remain safe, a necessity in our current times. 



Committee Members

Amy Propst
Betsy Batten
Blair Roscoe
Ellen Martin 
Christy Richard
Erica Ellis
Holly Brooking
Jennifer Miotto
Keri T Bell
Krystal Holliday
Laurel Johnson
Russ Greene
Sommer Shultzman
Sue Bowes